Mission and Facts

The professional student governance on the Twin Cities campus of the University of Minnesota rests with the Professional Student Government (PSG). All currently registered professional students at the University of Minnesota are members of PSG.

PSG represents and serves students in the Carlson School of Management, Law School, Medical School, Dental School, School of Nursing, College of Pharmacy, School of Public Health, College of Veterinary Medicine, College of Education and Human Development, and Humphrey School of Public Affairs. PSG is a resource for its 10 member Councils, the primary contact point for administrative units, a professional student policy-making and policy-influencing body, and as a center of inter- and intra-collegiate interaction among professional students.

In identifying issues of importance to our constituency at the collegiate, University, city, state, and national levels, PSG strives to maximize the level of student input in the advocacy process. We strive to develop creative, thoughtful, and well-researched positions and proposals that will benefit professional students and, ultimately, the entire University community.

PSG is uniquely positioned to serve at the highest level of professional student government. We have a variety of mechanisms well-suited and well-coordinated for serving our constituency. PSG’s President and the PSG Student Representative to the Board of Regents act as our primary liaisons to the University Administration. We collaborate with the Minnesota Student Legislative Coalition (MSLC) to educate elected officials about professional student needs. We have ties to the University Senate and the University Senate Committee system, allowing us to interact with faculty and staff in daily decision-making and to propose changes to policies. College council representatives are also members of the PSG Congress, ensuring a free flow of information about college trends and obstacles faced in representation at that level.

Our History

In 1990, a non-profit confederation of independent college councils was formed with the goal of representing all graduate and professional students at the University of Minnesota to the Board of Regents, the President of the University, the University Senate, and the University community at large (including neighboring communities). This organization was first called the Graduate and Professional Student Assembly (GAPSA). Prior to this time, graduate and professional students, along with undergraduate students, were represented within the Minnesota Student Association (MSA).

For 25 years, GAPSA was composed of ten councils: the Graduate School, Carlson School of Management, Law School, Medical School, Dental School, School of Nursing, College of Pharmacy, School of Public Health, College of Veterinary Medicine, and College of Education and Human Development. The president of GAPSA was elected through an ACEC election in March by all graduate and professional students, including Medicine and Pharmacy students who attend classes in Duluth. The 2015-2016 school year was to mark the 25th year anniversary of GAPSA.

However, over the years, GAPSA suffered from in-fighting among Council leaders and the GAPSA leadership. In particular, the GAPSA Assembly grew disjointed, as it struggled to address both the interests and needs of both graduate and professional students. Many leaders recognized that graduate students are very different from professional students, and vice versa. This divisiveness reached a breaking point in 2014, and the Council of Graduate Students (COGS) and GAPSA leaders decided that graduate students and professional students would be best represented by separate organizations.

Following a student referendum approving the same, on May 7, 2015, the last GAPSA Assembly unanimously voted to remove COGS from the union and change its name to Professional Student Government (PSG). PSG would continue to and focus on representing professional students and professional Councils. COGS, as it was already accustomed to doing, would solely represent graduate students.

Year Founded
Member Councils of PSG
Students Represented by PSG

Our Presidents

  • 2017 – 2018: Rachel Cardwell
  • 2016 – 2017: Max Hall
  • 2015 – 2016: Kyle R. Kroll
  • 2014 – 2015: Alfonso Sintjago
  • 2012 – 2014: Brittany Edwards
  • 2011 – 2012: Brittany Edwards (acting), Abou Amara
  • 2010 – 2011: Abou Amara (acting), Ryan Kennedy
  • 2009 – 2010: Kristi Kremers
  • 2008 – 2009: Kristi Kremers
  • 2007 – 2008: Kristen Denzer
  • 2006 – 2007: Suzanne Sobotka (acting), Dmitry Zhdanov
  • 2005 – 2006: Taqee Khaled (acting), Karen Buhr
  • 2004 – 2005: Abu Jalal
  • 2003 – 2004: Todd Powell
  • 2002 – 2003: Christina Frazier
  • 2001 – 2002: Phillip Cole, Patrick Pederson
  • 2000 – 2001: Ben Solomon
  • 1999 – 2000: Cheryl Jorgensen
  • 1998 – 1999: J.P. Maier
  • 1997 – 1998: J.P. Maier
  • 1996 – 1997: Bruce Bromberek
  • 1995 – 1996: Kathy James
  • 1994 – 1995: Cecil Smith
  • 1993 – 1994: Cecil Smith
  • 1992 – 1993: Michel Foster (acting), Dave Dahlgren
  • 1991 – 1992: Julie Harrold
  • 1990 – 1991: Suzanne Fust